School of Fine and Performing Arts

Honor Band: Middle and High School

On this page:

About the Honor Band Festival

February 15–17, 2024

The Wright State University Honor Band Festival is an event hosted at Wright State University that includes two high school concert bands, a middle school concert band, a high school jazz band, and a day of professional development for band directors. Participating students will work with two conductors, play in side-by-side rehearsals with Wright State music faculty and music majors, attend masterclasses given by Wright State faculty, and perform a concert on the Saturday of the festival.  

The professional development day will include six hours of workshops and clinics given by the honor band conductors and Wright State faculty.

The weekend also includes an opportunity for participating high school seniors to audition for acceptance into the Wright State School of Fine and Performing Arts. In addition, a music scholarship will be awarded to one auditioning senior at the Saturday concert.

2023 Letter to Directors (DOCX)

2023 Honor Band Conductors

Alfred L. Watkins

Former Director of Bands at Lassiter High School

Alfred Watkins was Director of Bands at Lassiter High School for 31 years. For six years prior to joining Lassiter, Watkins served as Director of Bands at Murphy High School in the Atlanta Public Schools.

Shelley M. Jagow, Ph.D.

Shelley Jagow, Ph.D., is professor of music at Wright State University and director of both the Wind Symphony and the Symphonic Band. She is a Vandoren Regional Artist, as well as a music education clinician for Conn-Selmer, Meredith Music, and GIA Publications.

Gretchen McNamara

Applied Trombone
Gretchen McNamara, Ph.D., is the trombone instructor at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio, a position she has held since 2007. In addition to her responsibilities with the trombone studio, she also teaches instrumental music education and supervises field placements.

Heather Marsh-Myers

Director of Bands at Arcanum-Butler Local School District

Heather Marsh-Myers is in her 1st year as Associate Director of Bands at Beavercreek High School. 6th year as band director of the Arcanum-Butler Local School District.

Matthew Spradlin

Director of Bands at Wilmington High School

Matthew Spradlin serves as Director of Bands at Wilmington High School. He received a Bachelor of Music in Music Education from Miami University, and a Master of Music Degree from Wright State University.

Matt Frost

Director of Bands at Beavercreek High School

Matt Frost is the head band director and co-music department coordinator at Beavercreek High School in Beavercreek, OH.  He has taught band for 24 years in Beavercreek City Schools, and is currently in his 9th year at Beavercreek HS.

Student Nomination Form

Music Directors and Private Teachers may nominate up to 8 students for each of the bands indicated below. The deadline for nominations is Monday, December 5, 2022.

Festival Schedule

Festival Music

Download your music

Concert Programs

The Wright State Honor Band Concerts will have both in-person and live-streaming options for friends and family members.

Live-streaming will be available on our Facebook page.

2023 Concert Programs


Directions, Parking, and Accessibility

If you need a parking pass, please email Bill Jobert at

Registration and Waiver for Honor Band

Please pay the registration fee only if you have been notified that you are accepted for the Honor Band.

All participants must complete the waiver form (PDF). Download and complete this form and bring it with you to the festival.

If your School is paying and requires an invoice, request an invoice here.

Hotel Accommodations

Any hotel reservations are to be made by the director or student’s guardians. You may request university discount rates at the Holiday Inn Dayton/Fairborn or Tru Hotel by Hilton. View Local Hotel Rates.

Honor Band Scholarship Winners


Elijah Grubb
Kettering, OH

Abigail Larson
Bellbrook, OH


Kylie Bayless
Wimington, OH

Honor Band Conductors Archive


Richard Saucedeo
Carmel High School, IN (emeritus)

Kyle Young
Carmel High School, IN

Dr. Matthew Warner
Rapid Run Middle School – Cincinnati, OH


Dr. Clifford N. Towner
Georgia College, GA

John Seaton
Las Vegas Academy of the Arts, NV

Ben Streitenberger
Washington Court House Middle School, OH

2020 Honor Band Photo Gallery

2022 Honor Band Photo Gallery


Take the Next Step

Finding the right college means finding the right fit. See all that the College of Liberal Arts has to offer by visiting campus.