Department of History

Undergraduate Scholarships

On this page:


The History Department offers scholarships and prizes to currently enrolled undergraduate students. Applications are due mid-way through the spring semester; exact due dates are posted annually at the beginning of the spring semester.

History Essay Prize 

This prize is awarded to the best paper (7-20 pages) written by an undergraduate student.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Michaela Cruz
  • 2016: Craig Finnell
  • 2015: Derek Pridemore
  • 2014: Caleb Mitchener
  • 2013: Melissa McLean
  • 2012: Grace Richards
  • 2011: Kelly Renée Combs
  • 2010: Nicholas Waggy
  • 2009: Mark Pulcifer

Outstanding Student in History Scholarship 

The winner will be a history major with a g.p.a. of at least 3.3 and at least one semester remaining before graduation. To apply, students a 300-word essay that describes as fully as possible their interests, their goals as a student of history, and why they should receive the award; they also submit a letter of recommendation from a member of the history department faculty.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Samantha Wood
  • 2016: Christopher Corkern
  • 2015: Lucas Schweirkert
  • 2014: Daniel Lauro
  • 2013: Bethany Wages 
  • 2012: Aaron C. Supinger
  • 2011: Joshowa Yost
  • 2010: no award given
  • 2009: Juan Muñoz
  • 2008: Heide E. Gottschlich

Scholarship in Memory of Carl Becker

This scholarship honors one of the founding members of the Wright State history department, an accomplished scholar and a great supporter of public history, both at Wright State and in the community. This scholarship is awarded to a graduate of Wright State who is entering the Wright State graduate program in History on the Public History track.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Lauren Lyon
  • 2016: Joseph Panfile
  • 2015: Justin Risner
  • 2014: Heather Webb
  • 2013: Joseph Bradley-Hutchison
  • 2012: no award given
  • 2011: Anthony Kremer

F. Richard Swann Scholarship  

This scholarship was endowed by Wright State alumni Samuel and Lynne Dodson in 2013. It honors a retired faculty member who specialized in British history. It is awarded to the best paper (7-20 pages) written by an undergraduate student, with preference given to essays on some aspect of the history of Great Britain and/or the British Empire.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Anna Helmig
  • 2016: Theodore J. Theopolos
  • 2015: Megan Bailey
  • 2014: Derek Pridemore
  • 2013: Joseph Bradley-Hutchison (inaugural scholarship winner)

Nezahualcóyotl Prize 

Awarded to an outstanding student in senior-level Latin American History courses offered at Wright State the previous calendar year.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Elizabeth Bish
  • 2016: Craig Finnell
  • 2015: Timothy Hughes
  • 2014: no award given
  • 2013: no award given
  • 2012: Nathan T. Barnes
  • 2011: Amy Linden
  • 2010: Justin Olivieri


Take the Next Step

Finding the right college means finding the right fit. See all that the College of Liberal Arts has to offer by visiting campus.