photo of students and a professor outsideThe Liberal Studies Program began about a dozen years ago under the leadership of Dr. Mark Sirkin of the Political Science Department. The Program grew rapidly as the number of majors went from a handful in the first few years to over 140 currently. When Dr. Sirkin retired from Wright State Dr. Valerie Stoker of the Department of Religion became the program’s director in the fall of 2008. She was succeeded in the fall of 2011 by the current director, Dr. Bruce LaForse of the Department of Classics.