Experiential Learning

Internship Contacts in the College

Many departments and majors within the College of Liberal Arts offer specific internships as integral parts of their program of study. These internships are the most direct path to career experience in students’ chosen field. Students who want to learn more about these opportunities or community partners who want to connect with a department in the college should contact the appropriate representative of each department or program. See internship contacts below. 

Share your internship story

Departments and Schools

Applied Behavioral Sciences (ABS) Master's Program

La Fleur F. Small (Director): (937) 775-2152 
lafleur.small@wright.edu

Art and Art History

Tracy Longley-Cook: (937) 775-4118
tracy.longley-cook@wright.edu
Art Internships

Past Internships
  • Dayton Art Institute
  • Rosewood Arts Center
  • WSU Office of Marketing
  • Stivers School for the Arts: Photography Program
  • Callahan Photography

CELIA:Collaborative Education, Leadership, and Innovation in the Arts

Stephanie Dickey: (937) 775-2787
stephanie.dickey@wright.edu

past internships
  • CELIA
  • City of Kettering, Cultural Arts: Rosewood Arts Center
  • Dayton Performing Arts Alliance
  • Dayton Society of Artists
  • Human Race Theatre Company
  • Miami Valley Community Action Partnership
  • Victoria Theatre Association
  • Western Reserve Historical Society: Hale Farm and Village
  • Wright State University School of Music

Communication

Ray Marcano
ray.marcano@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Cox Media Group Ohio
  • Carillon Historical Park -Dayton History
  • Dayton Children's Hospital
  • WKEF-TV
  • Families of Addicts (FOA)

English Language and Literatures

Internships in Writing

Sally DeThomas: (937) 775-3758
sally.dethomas@wright.edu

Past Writing Internships:

  • Reds Rookie Success League
  • Woolpert
  • Office of Institutional Research
  • University Auditing and Consulting Services
  • Municipality of Carlisle, Ohio
Internships in Creative Writing

Dr. Erin Flanagan: (937) 775-3136 
erin.flanagan@wright.edu 

Internships in TESOL

Dr. Deborah Crusan: (937) 775-3136
deborah.crusan@wright.edu

Internships in Teaching

Dr. David Seitz: (937) 775-3338
david.seitz@wright.edu

Internships in Literature

Dr. Alpana Sharma: (937) 775-2070
alpana.sharma@wright.edu 

History

Jonathan Winkler: (937) 775-3839
jonathan.winkler@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Warren County Records Center and Archives
  • Armstrong Air and Space Museum
  • National Museum of the Marine Corps
  • Clark County Historical Society
  • Boonshoft Museum of Discovery

Modern Languages

María Astudillo: (937) 775-4456
maria.astudillo@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Hispanic Catholic Ministry
  • Dayton Public Library
  • Eckerle Administrative Center

Music

Hank Dahlman: (937) 775-2787 
hank.dahlman@wright.edu  

Political Science

Lee Hannah: 775-2904
lee.hannah@wright.edu
Political Science Internships

Past Internships
  • Advanced Technical Intelligence Center
  • Defense Institute for Security Assistance Management
  • United Nations - UN Women
  • Montgomery County Public Defender
  • Ohio House of Representatives- Rep. John Rogers (District 60)

Religion, Philosophy, and Classics

Ava Chamberlain: (937) 775-2274
ava.chamberlain@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Ebeneserhof Hutterian Brethren
  • Butler High School

Sociology

Jim Adamitis: (937) 775-4465
jim.adamitis@wright.edu

Sociology Internships

Past Internships  
  • Catholic Social Services of the Miami Valley
  • Hope House Rescue Mission
  • Mental Health & Recovery Board of Clark, Greene & Madison Counties

Social Work

Social Work website

Theatre, Dance and Motion Pictures

Stuart McDowell: (937) 775-3784
stuart.mcdowell@wright.edu

Urban Affairs and Geography

Jerri Killian: (937) 775-4451
jerri.killian@wright.edu

Past Internships 
  • Wesley Community Center
  • City of Xenia
  • Dayton Police Department
  • Americorps
  • Montgomery County Sanitary Engineering

Interdisciplinary Programs

Crime and Justice Studies

Jim Adamitis: (937) 775-4465
jim.adamitis@wright.edu
Crime and Justice Studies Internships

Past Internships
  • Fairborn Police Department
  • Montgomery County Juvenile Court
  • Miamisburg Police Department
  • US Marshals Service
  • Preble County Court of Common Pleas

International Studies

December Green: (937) 775-2942
december.green@wright.edu
International Studies Internships

Past Internships
  • U.S. Department of State

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Julianne Weinzimmer: (937) 775-2667
j.weinzimmer@wright.edu

Past Internships  
  • Girls Inc. / YWCA
  • Planned Parenthood of SW Ohio
  • Wright State Women's Center 

Internship questions?

Contact Wayne Stark at wayne.stark@wright.edu.

Any suggestions?

Do you want to create an internship opportunity for a liberal arts student but are unsure of where to begin? Please contact Wayne Stark at wayne.stark@wright.edu and he will help you get started.

 


Take the Next Step

Finding the right college means finding the right fit. See all that the College of Liberal Arts has to offer by visiting campus.