The School of MusicSchuster Hall during performance

The School of Music is a member of the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM) and has twenty full-time faculty, twenty-two part-time faculty, three full time office staff and eight graduate teaching assistants. Together with the School of Art and Theatre Arts, the School of Music is housed in the modern surroundings of the Creative Arts Center. Facilities include the 250-seat Schuster Hall (Concert Hall), the more intimate 110-seat Recital Hall, numerous studios, offices, and practice rooms. The music library is located next door to the Creative Arts Center in the Paul Laurence Dunbar Library.


Wright State University at nightThe University

Wright State University, one of Ohio's thirteen state-assisted universities, became accredited and independent in 1967. The university offers forty master's programs, two research doctoral programs, and two professional doctoral programs. Although Wright State has a rural-suburban setting, downtown Dayton is only twenty minutes away by car or campus bus. Ballets, concerts, lectures, and other cultural activities are available throughout the year. In addition, the university and the School of Music sponsor performances by students, faculty, and visiting artists. Art exhibits and theatre productions are also offered regularly in the modern Creative Arts Center.