Internships

Featured Internships

  • News Department Intern
  • Marketing & Social Media Intern 
  • Music Intern

Many departments and majors within the College of Liberal Arts offer specific internships as integral parts of their program of study.  These internships are the most direct path to career experience in students’ chosen field.  Students who want to learn more about these opportunities or community partners who want to connect with a department in the college should contact the appropriate representative of each department or program. See internship contacts below. 

Art & Art History

Tracy Longley-Cook: 775-4118
Tracy.longley-cook@wright.edu
Art Internships website

Past Internships
  • Dayton Art Institute
  • Rosewood Arts Center
  • WSU Office of Marketing
  • Stivers School for the Arts: Photography Program
  • Callahan Photography

Communication

Scott Peterson: 775-3504
Scott.peterson@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Cox Media Group Ohio
  • Carillon Historical Park -Dayton History
  • Dayton Children's Hospital
  • WKEF-TV
  • Families of Addicts (FOA)

English Language & Literatures

Sally DeThomas: 775-3758
sally.dethomas@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Reds Rookie Success League
  • Woolpert
  • Office of Institutional Research
  • University Auditing and Consulting Services
  • Municipality of Carlisle, Ohio

History

Carol Herringer: 775-3869
Carol.herringer@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Warren County Records Center and Archives
  • Armstrong Air and Space Museum
  • National Museum of the Marine Corps
  • Clark County Historical Society
  • Boonshoft Museum of Discovery

Modern Languages

María Astudillo: 775-4456
Maria.astudillo@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Hispanic Catholic Ministry
  • Dayton Public Library
  • Eckerle Administrative Center

Music

William Jobert: 775-3170
William.jobert@wright.edu

Political Science

Lee Hannah: 775-2904
paul.leonard@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Advanced Technical Intelligence Center
  • Defense Institute for Security Assistance Management
  • United Nations - UN Women
  • Montgomery County Public Defender
  • Ohio House of Representatives- Rep. John Rogers (District 60)

Pre-Law

John Feldmeier: 775-2229
john.feldmeier@wright.edu
Political Science Internship Website

Past Internships  
  • Montgomery County Public Defender
  • Congressional District

Religion, Philosophy, and Classics

Ava Chamberlain: 775-2274
ava.chamberlain@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Ebeneserhof Hutterian Brethren
  • Butler High School

Sociology

Jim Adamitis: 775-4465
jim.adamitis@wright.edu

Johnathan Varhola: 775-3436
johnathan.varhola@wright.edu

Sociology Internship website

Past Internships  
  • Catholic Social Services of the Miami Valley
  • Hope House Rescue Mission
  • Mental Health & Recovery Board of Clark, Greene & Madison Counties

Social Work

Paula Long: 775-3980
paula.long@wright.edu

Past Internships
  • Alzheimer's Association
  • Crossroads Hospice
  • Family Violence Prevention Clinic
  • Miami Valley Child Development Center
  • YWCA

Theatre, Dance & Motion Pictures

Stuart McDowell: 775-3784
stuart.mcdowell@wright.edu

Urban Affairs & Geography

Jerri Killian: 775-4451
jerri.killian@wright.edu

Past Internships 
  • Wesley Community Center
  • City of Xenia
  • Dayton Police Department
  • Americorps
  • Montgomery County Sanitary Engineering

Interdisciplinary Programs

Crime & Justice Studies

Jim Adamitis: 775-4465
jim.adamitis@wright.edu
Crime & Justice Studies Internship website

Past Internships
  • Fairborn Police Department
  • Montgomery County Juvenile Court
  • Miamisburg Police Department
  • US Marshals Service
  • Preble County Court of Common Pleas

International Studies

Pramod Kantha: 775-2387
pramod.kantha@wright.edu
International Studies Internship website

Past Internships
  • U.S. Department of State

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Hope Jennings: 775-2265
hope.jennings@wright.edu

Past Internships  
  • Girls Inc. / YWCA
  • Planned Parenthood of SW Ohio
  • Wright State Women's Center 

Internship questions?

Contact Wayne Stark at wayne.stark@wright.edu.

Any suggestions?

Do you want to create an internship opportunity for a liberal arts student but are unsure of where to begin? Please contact Wayne Stark at wayne.stark@wright.edu and he will help you get started.